T-BILL rejected in AP assembly

Posted : January 30, 2014 at 6:57 pm IST by ManaTelugu

In a major blow to Telangana activists and big set back to UPA government, “Draft” Bill of Andhra Pradesh Reorganization 2013 has been rejected in Andhra Pradesh assembly. Speaker of AP assembly Nadendla Manohar has hit a sixer in the last ball. Taking everyone by surprise, speaker accepted CM’s recommendation and put the bill to vote in Legislative assembly. The bill has been passed by voice vote (Muzuvani vote).

Since assembly is seen as the first step of democracy and echoes the voice of people of state, rejection of the Telangana Bill in present form is seen as a major embarrassment to Centre government.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy, who is staunch supporter of United Andhra Pradesh, has walked out of the AP assembly shouting slogan “JAI SAMAIKYANDHRA” soon after the rejection of Telangana Bill.

With this, President Pranab Mukherjee is in dilemma. He may seek legal opinion on this, say sources. The bill is likely to be introduced in Parliament next month which is expected to draw flak from Seemandhra MPs.