Jagan and Vijayamma quit MP and MLA posts

Posted : August 10, 2013 at 5:27 am IST by ManaTelugu

Putting an end to suspense over their continuation of posts on the issue of the bifurcation of state, the YSR Congress President YS Jaganmohan Reddy and party honorary President YS Vijayamma on Saturday quit their MP and MLA posts respectively protesting against the Congress led UPA’s decision to bifurcate the state.

The party’s 16 MLAs and one MP have recently tendered resignations from their posts against Congress party’s endorsement to create telangana which triggered protests in Seemandhra region.

Addressing the press here, party senior leader M Rajamohan Reddy said the resignation letters of Jagan and Vijayamma have been faxed to Lok Sabha Secretariat and state Assembly Speaker N Manohan in speaker’s format and the same will be sent through post. Jagan, who was languishing in chenchalguda jail, sent his letter with the permission of jail authorities.

Congress took the decision to curve out the state ‘unilaterally’ which was against the wishes of people of the state, Reddy said reiterated his party stood by its stand on Telangana taken at its plenary held last year. Whatever decision being taken by the centre should be acceptable by all region people and render justice to all.