CM demands Speaker to send back T Bill

Posted : January 25, 2014 at 6:25 pm IST by ManaTelugu

CM Kiran kumar Reddy serving a notice to the Speaker, asking him to send back the AP Reorganization Bill-2013 to the Centre, in his capaticy as leader of the House. With this the stage is set for a showdown in the state legislature.

CM Kiran kumar Reddy wanted Speaker Nandendla Manohar to pass a resolution under Section 77 of the House rules. The notice of CM Kiran was handed over to the speaker by state legislative affairs minister S. Sailajanath. A similar notice has been issued to the chairman of state legislative council A.Chakrapani by state endowments minister C. Ramachandraiah, who is the leader of the Council.

Before serving the notice to Speaker, taking part in the debate on the T Bill in Assembly, CM Kiran said contended that the Union Home ministry has erred in sensing a Bill full of flaws. He also pointed out that the Home Ministry has once called it a Bill and at another occasion as Draft Bill.

Senior minister from Telangana K. Jana Reddy questioned the attitude of CM Kiran in finding fault with the Bill.

Speaking after CM Kiran’s assertions in the House over the Bill, Opposition leader Chandrababu Naidu faulted the CM for staying blind to the lacunae in the Bill even 23 days after debate has started on the Bill. However, Naidu spoke in favour of sending the Bill back to the Centre when he said a similar instance has taken place in the then combined state of Bihar.

Naidu asserted that the Assembly, Speaker, leader of the house and Opposition leader are all Constitutional functionaries and as such, they are not bound to debate a Bill which is not according to the Constitution.

Legislator Jayaprakash Narayan faulted the Congress party and the UPA government for bringing the Bill in just the same way as proposed in the CWC resolution, despite objections by people. Naidu is scheduled to speak on the Bill on Monday.

Meanwhile, “AICC sources” told a private media channel on Saturday that the T bill may be introduced in the Parliament any time between February 7 to 12.